Rebecca has been an Attorney at Serkland Law Firm since 2014.

Areas of Practice

Bar Admissions

  • North Dakota, 1980
  • Minnesota
  • U.S. District Court for the District of North Dakota
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
  • U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of North Dakota

Specialized Training

  • Mediation Training of 30 hours at Mediation Center for Dispute Resolution, Hamline University, St. Paul, Minnesota

Honors and Awards

  • Rated as “AV” lawyer in Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory
  • Listed in Best Lawyers in America for over 20 years, including the 2017 edition: Arbitration and Commercial Litigation
  • Recognized as Leading Commercial Litigation Lawyer in Chambers Guide
  • Recognized as Leading Lawyer in the area of Labor and Employment in Chambers Guide
  • Selected for inclusion in the Great Plains Super Lawyers list (2007–2016)
  • Recognized as Local Litigation Star in North Dakota (2012–2017) by Benchmark Litigation
  • Selected as one of the top 250 Women in Litigation (U.S.) by Benchmark Litigation
  • Fellow, International Society of Barristers
  • Fellow, Litigation Counsel of America
  • Fellow, American College of Trial Lawyers


  • Juris Doctor – University of North Dakota School of Law (1980)
  • Bachelor of Arts in Humanities with a Minor in Urban Studies – Valparaiso University (1972)

Present Bar-Related Activities

  • Ex-Officio Board member, National Conference of Bar Examiners (Past Chair)
  • Vice-President, International Society of Barristers Foundation

Past Bar-Related Activities

  • Vice-Chair, Disciplinary Board of the North Dakota Supreme Court
  • Distinguished Service Award Recipient, State Bar Association of North Dakota (2000)
  • President and Secretary, State Bar Association of North Dakota
  • President, North Dakota State Board of Law Examiners
  • Chair, Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee, North Dakota Supreme Court and State Bar Association of North Dakota
  • Chairman, Continuing Legal Education Committee, State Bar Association of North Dakota, Recipient, Outstanding Chairman Award
  • Federal Practice Committee for the United States District Court for the District of North Dakota
  • Joint Commission on Lawyer Discipline and Admission
  • Inquiry Committee West
  • North Dakota Bar Foundation
  • Legal Assistance of North Dakota

Past Employment

  • Zuger Kirmis, & Smith, Bismarck, North Dakota (1982–2014)
  • Degnan, McElroy, Lamb, Camrud, Maddock, & Olson, Grand Forks, North Dakota (1981–1982)
  • The Honorable Myron H. Bright, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit (1980–1981)

If you would like to work with Rebecca on your case, feel free to contact her today.